The Pritzker winners Kazuyo Sejima, left, and Ryue Nishizawa at their Rolex Learning Center in Lausanne, Switzerland (Photo: Denis Balibouse/Reuters)

Kazuyo Sejima and Ryue Nishizawa, partners in the Japanese architectural firm Sanaa, have won the 2010 Pritzker Architecture Prize, the profession’s highest honor.

“They explore like few others the phenomenal properties of continuous space, lightness, transparency and materiality to create a subtle synthesis,” the jury citation said. “Sejima and Nishizawa’s architecture stands in direct contrast with the bombastic and rhetorical. Instead, they seek the essential qualities of architecture that result in a much appreciated straightforwardness, economy of means and restraint in their work.”


Robin Pogrebin
New York Times